The Path to Pentecost Day 39

Matthias Gerung, The Giving of the Seven Bowls of Wrath Ottheinrich Bible, 1520

16:1 Then I heard a loud voice from the temple telling the seven angels, “Go and pour out on the earth the seven bowls of the wrath of God.”

2 So the first angel went and poured out his bowl on the earth, and harmful and painful sores came upon the people who bore the mark of the beast and worshiped its image.

3 The second angel poured out his bowl into the sea, and it became like the blood of a corpse, and every living thing died that was in the sea.

4 The third angel poured out his bowl into the rivers and the springs of water, and they became blood.

8 The fourth angel poured out his bowl on the sun, and it was allowed to scorch people with fire. 9 They were scorched by the fierce heat, and they cursed the name of God who had power over these plagues. They did not repent and give him glory.

10 The fifth angel poured out his bowl on the throne of the beast, and its kingdom was plunged into darkness. People gnawed their tongues in anguish 11 and cursed the God of heaven for their pain and sores. They did not repent of their deeds.

12 The sixth angel poured out his bowl on the great river Euphrates, and its water was dried up, to prepare the way for the kings from the east. 13 And I saw, coming out of the mouth of the dragon and out of the mouth of the beast and out of the mouth of the false prophet, three unclean spirits like frogs. 14 For they are demonic spirits, performing signs, who go abroad to the kings of the whole world, to assemble them for battle on the great day of God the Almighty. 

17 The seventh angel poured out his bowl into the air, and a loud voice came out of the temple, from the throne, saying, “It is done!” 18 And there were flashes of lightning, rumblings, peals of thunder, and a great earthquake such as there had never been since man was on the earth, so great was that earthquake. 19 The great city was split into three parts, and the cities of the nations fell, and God remembered Babylon the great, to make her drain the cup of the wine of the fury of his wrath. 20 And every island fled away, and no mountains were to be found. 21 And great hailstones, about one hundred pounds each, fell from heaven on people; and they cursed God for the plague of the hail, because the plague was so severe.

Revelation 16:1-4, 8-12 and 17-21

The seven angels are messengers from the seven spirits before the throne. In ancient times these were known as the planetary gods and in the Atlantean period they could manifest within the seven temples. Over thousands of years, the temples have become interiorised as the seven spiritual centres.

The Greeks knew the seven deities by the names of the seven planets. Plato tells us that when the soul enters incarnation it brings with it the energies of the seven gods into the spiritual centres in a particular order. The seven angels are the messengers of the seven spirits. They are sent to purify the Atlantean temples, that is our spiritual centres of the negative, destructive energies that entered in at the Atlantean period.

The full story of this purification is too involved to enter into here, but we can put it briefly as follows.

The first angel brings the energy of Ares, or Mars. The power of Ares dwells within the lowest spiritual centre. Harmful and painful sores affected the skin, and the skin is associated with sexuality. The energy of Mars then will change our sexuality. If we misuse sexual energy to gain power over others and to exploit others for our own selfish pleasure and gain, we shall experience pain and humiliation.

The second angel represents the energies of Aphrodite, or Venus. The Venus energies operate through the etheric centre. The sea is the origin of life. We have to purify our life force from the dead beings of memories of past trauma and transgression.

The Moon energies work within the astral centre. In purifying this part of ourselves we have to unify the astral energies with the etheric.

The Sun Temple was the only Temple in Atlantis which did not become corrupted. Within the heart is a pure force which will be released and pour out upon the old energies which prevent us from loving purely.

We have reached the fifth centre. This contains the power of Hermes or Mercury. When this power is renewed then the tongue will no longer be an instrument which can lie. Communication becomes direct and real.

In the sixth centre the power of Saturn, Kronos in Greek, will cleanse the brow centre. Saturn is the old ruler of the gods. His power represents the old Atlantean clairvoyance, the “great river Euphrates.” This old clairvoyance must become dried up, so the new ruler of the gods, Zeus or Jupiter can take charge.

Finally, we reach the Crown Centre. This is where Zeus, the ruler of the gods lives. Zeus is the god of lightning and thunder and of earthquakes. With the purification of the Temple of Jupiter we are again united with spiritual consciousness. This creates a seismic shift in our evolution. Everything changes. The individual centres are no longer islands, “every island fled away,” they are connected and united. The barriers and resistance within each centre dissolve, “no mountains are found”. The power of our individuality, the I AM, will now rule our evolution entering through the open Crown Centre. We change, and so the world changes.

The image

Matthias Gerung, The Giving of the Seven Bowls of Wrath Ottheinrich Bible, 1520
Matthias Gerung, The Giving of the Seven Bowls of Wrath
Ottheinrich Bible, 1520

Purification can be very painful. The last book of the Old Testament advises us to “buy gold refined by fire.” We don’t become gold, until we are refined.

Not one of us escapes suffering in this life. But we need to question the purpose of this suffering within our own life. Is it  punishment? Is it karma, payback for a deed we committed in a previous existence? Or perhaps it is the spiritual worlds refining us so that the gold of our divine inner nature may be revealed...

For today, reflect on a time in your life where you suffered terrible pain. How did it change you? Did you become bitter, angry and hard? Or did this experience reveal to you forgiveness, understanding and love? For this day, let us transform for a moment the “wrath of God” into the “consuming love of God.”

The wrath of God is nothing else but the consuming love of God.

Rev Mario Schoenmaker, The Book of Revelation, 1984 Lecture Series

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top